Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Sekator's... art?

Hybrid View

Teen Member

Sekator's... art?

I'm a newbie, contrary to the fact I registered here in december. The thing is simple - tell me if what I've drawn is acceptable. The first time I received ruthless blow in critics on a certain forum, I almost quit drawing... but I figured I won't do much progress without knowing what should I practice, so I'm asking on an english speaking forum, for a change.

So here it is... I actually attempted to design a character for my story, and here's what came out. To be honest this is... my 5th character drawing so far

sketch (uncropped lol)
    http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images...ture001kr.jpg/
    colored version
    http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/7/picture01a.jpg/

Hi there Sekator,

There are a lot of things that you need to work on. You art is at an early stage and you require a lot of knowledge before you can design a proper character. First thing is first, Anatomy, probably the biggest pain in art. Look it up, and look for tutorials online, we even have some here on MT. Focus on one thing at a time, that way you won't get overwhelm with practice.

Check it out and keep practicing mate ;D

As DHB already said, there's a lot to work on, but it looks good for only your 5th attempt at designing a character. Your prior experience with posting is unfortunate, but it's important to distance yourself from your art emotionally. Being able to step back and take an unbiased and emotionally detached view of what you've done will only help you in the long run. The most important thing you can do right now is to just draw a lot and preferably draw from real life. I know it may sound boring but you will learn much more trying to recreate a 3 dimensional object on paper.