Thread: Where Do I Begin?

Hybrid View

Where Do I Begin?

Hi, everybody.

Recently I've been kind of frustrated because I've been really getting into manga and anime (I have been for a while, but recently I'm lovin' it :P ) and I decided I wanted to make my own manga. I don't plan on making this my profession or anything like that, but maybe just a webcomic or something where I could just make a nice, cool manga

The reason I've been frustrated is because I have many good (or at least I think they're good) ideas for a manga, but I can't draw. It's not that I'm a completely hopeless artist- I'm okay with some things. But sometimes I draw a character and although it doesn't look too bad, it's just not...good enough? Maybe my expectations are too high, but whenever I draw it just doesn't come out the way I want it. I have an entire plot planned out and I really want to make this manga, but I don't know how I'm going to do it.

Besides that, I don't know where to begin. So my question to you is: How should I go about starting the process of making a manga? I have no idea when or where I should start. I know I need to practice drawing, but how should I begin? Although I don't want to do this on a professional level, who knows where it could go. I want my manga to look nice, and be unique. So please give me any tips or advice on how I should begin.

Thank you very much for all responses <3

Check out post 6 (Toast's Post) of this thread for all the images in the quote below;

Quote Originally Posted by Toast View Post
    hey
    before you even think about getting into anatomy, you must understand the basics in art so that your ventures into other aspects in art are much easier and more effective. Here is a list of things you need to learn, as well as some images. For some, I'll put an exercise in parentheses. It's preferable that you do this in order, therefore it will be easier. Feel free to PM me with any questions: