Thread: Tama's art stuffs

Hybrid View

Tama's art stuffs

So this is where I'll put most of my stuff. I'll probably put WIPs here so I can get critiques of them at a time they can be edited more easily. If I actually produce finished work I'll make an Artist alley thread. Dunno though, I kind of don't like the idea of posting things not up for critique.

Right now I'm in the more initial stages of a couple projects, so a lot of what I've produced this year are prelim and concept sketches. I haven't had much time, so I haven't got much finished work.

In other info, I'm a traditional artist. At some point I'd like to expand my digital abilities further. I work comfortably in semi-realism, but I do full manga style when the subject suits it. I also design costumes. I generally draw either OC's or illustrate written characters for which I have no visual reference.

So, anyways, here is just some collected stuff from this year:

These are from a project request. The orcish creatures are described as almost made out of bone. I take no credit for the creation of these characters, only for their representation in these illustrations based on the author's description.

This one is early, and the shape is still bulky. I'm referencing samurai armor. Here they look too tough and put together, they are supposed to be more crude. Yes I know it's on lined paper.

This one is bare headed and more feral. This is probably a final design. I've been making them long and lanky, long, apelike extension in the arms as if they almost could walk on their knuckles. Think Hydra from the Nausicaa comics.

Sword designs from the same project. The sabers with the basket hilts are used by the human party, the vaguely Scottish Claymores by the orc creatures. The dark spike on the creature's heads was specified in the text, and I tried to mirror the crystalline texture in the hilt of the sword.