Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Screen tone

  1. #1

    Screen tone

    I am new at drawing manga (although I draw characters like no other) and I was wondering since I know you can screen tone digitally, I was wondering if you could do it manually as well, because I want to try to keep my manga authentic and very original. If anyone catches my drift

    ~~Billy~~

  2. #2
    Your Friendly Ban Hammer-er Rio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    2,732
    You can do it manually but you'll have to buy screentones. You can get them here:

    Letraset
    Akadot Retail
    Deleter

    FYI - if you're going to use physical screentones, I suggest you use heavier stock paper so it can support the weight of the screentone plus be able to take the scraping and other things you can do with screentones.

  3. #3
    101 Dalmations Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    139
    Quote Originally Posted by Rio View Post
    You can do it manually but you'll have to buy screentones. You can get them here:

    Letraset
    Akadot Retail
    Deleter

    FYI - if you're going to use physical screentones, I suggest you use heavier stock paper so it can support the weight of the screentone plus be able to take the scraping and other things you can do with screentones.
    thanks =)

  4. #4
    Thanks I will bear that in mind

  5. #5
    101 Dalmations Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    139
    miss Rio. .how do you use screentones in PS? . .help?

  6. #6
    Fifty Fifty Member Bacon_Barbarian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Elizabeth's Court
    Posts
    5,837
    Or you could use Bristol...
    My AA thread - Updated 06/28/14

    Quote Originally Posted by Celestial-Fox View Post
    You're my favorite.

  7. #7
    Sir-Mass-a-Lot Sylux's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Christmas on Citadel
    Posts
    7,803
    That's expensive dude

  8. #8
    Fifty Fifty Member Bacon_Barbarian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Elizabeth's Court
    Posts
    5,837
    Yeah ...
    My AA thread - Updated 06/28/14

    Quote Originally Posted by Celestial-Fox View Post
    You're my favorite.

  9. #9
    Your Friendly Ban Hammer-er Rio's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    2,732
    Quote Originally Posted by tagYURIT View Post
    miss Rio. .how do you use screentones in PS? . .help?
    There's two ways of going about it. You can either a) use the screentone as a pattern with the bucket tool or b) use it as another layer on your drawing. This one here shows how to do the second one but for the first, all you really have to do is load the screen tone.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •