Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Kamisoyokaze's art up for critique.

Hybrid View

Kamisoyokaze's art up for critique.

Hello I'm new to drawing manga (started three days ago, well I have done them in the past but not seriously more like crappy doodles in my books at school:P) and I'm not very good, so please excuse me!

This is a drawing that I copied to start getting a feeling for manga, especially on this, please can you tell me whats wrong with my line work, I feel as if it's pretty bad, but I'm not really sure what to do about it.

The next three are all originals, so please give me the full story with these!

This was before I got my proper inking pen, so the lines are uniform, here i was practicing trying to draw someone in a running pose.

This is one that I'm drawing for my friend :P I am in the process of colouring it, I'll post the finished version when I'm done as I'm sure my colouring will be the definition of the word fail.

EDIT: I coloured on of the drawings above

EDIT: 2 more drawings

Coloured on of the previous drawings:

Thanks in advance for any comments you make.

PS. I dislike how it highlights the words colour, colouring ect. wrong :P 'cause I'm spelling them right, you silly Americans
    Last edited by kamisoyokaze; 08-31-2011 at 09:14 AM.

I think the first picture was your best, Kami. Also welcome to MT.

If you want your drawings to look better you have to have a combination of two things: (1) Good knowledge on what things are supposed to look like and (2) good hand-eye coordination to put it down. To improve your first point, I suggest studying perspective and doing gesture work to improve how you see things. Memorizing proportions would also be good since placement of features is really, really key in manga. Learn what foreshortening means and how that should affect the face proportions you draw.

To improve the second point, draw lots! Best of luck to your art.

Edit: Some books you might want to read, if you want to improve: