PDA

View Full Version : How to practice

johan
06-14-2011, 04:36 PM
I know that there were several threads covering this subject but I hope you can share some extra thoughts. As title says, my question is, how to practice? Let's say I'm total beginner(because I am) and I've collected some drawing manga books. Should I practice copying someone's works? Should I spend two hours drawing per day? Should I practice all things(like drawing faces in various angles, drawing various poses of body, drawing eyes, hair styles etc.) at the same time? Maybe should I practice one thing in one day and next day another thing? Should I draw things from imagination or use references as many as possible? I don't know if it's a good idea to blindly follow a drawing book, because every book lacks something. And the question is how to use a material included in the book. Hope you understand what I meant by question "how to practice".

apples13
06-14-2011, 05:31 PM
some beginners get lost in this "routine" that you must do everything in a certain way.
in terms of designing as long as you have a basic understanding of the illusions created on paper that should be a great starting point.
for example do you understand that things in the background appear smaller than things in the foreground?
do you understand general perspective stuff. even though it is on 2d paper you can create 3 dimensional objects.( start with a simple cube or sphere) also when you move 1 thing it will affect something else . if you move your arm up what muscles also go up besides the muscles on the arm? ( answer: muscles on the chest will also be stretched)

there is 2 ways to get better at drawing.

1. to practice hand eye( and brain) coordination
( are you making smooth lines like you want? and you creating the type of shape you want? can you mentally measure things?)