PDA

View Full Version : Looking for good tips and tutorials, plus some encouragement!

Leannah
09-05-2011, 05:51 PM
Hey guys,

I'm a humble beginner when it comes to drawing. I gave up on this beautiful art about 8 years ago after my grandmother savagely criticized my cute sketches.
I was young at the time, so that's probably why I reacted the way I did.
My father kind of encouraged me to pick up drawing again, "but maybe not manga."

Following this incident, I don't feel comfortable to draw my own characters anymore, or to draw manga. However, I did find a bunch of nice tutorials which teach beginners how to draw cartoon-ish animals and monsters.

Here are my questions:
Do you know any website that would be helpful to kids who like drawing? I need very clear step-by-step guides.

Are there any websites which teach people how to draw chibis? Mine always look creepy! I think that chibis would be a nice way to start drawing manga again.

How can I get over this whole thing as an artist?
I don't really talk to my grandmother anymore, and I'm extremely self-conscious when it comes to showing my drawings to other people.
I still live with my parents, and I basically gave up on concealing stuff from them because they're respectful, and also because I'd rather be honest and tell them that I want to draw.

This may seem ridiculous but I'm extremely sensitive, and I need to find a way to get my confidence up again.

Thanks!

ClockHand
09-05-2011, 05:55 PM
I heard about a site named Mangatutorials, I don't know if you are familiar with it.

If you don't show your work, your improvement is going to be little or almost none, big part of being an artist is knowing to deal with critics.

Leannah
09-05-2011, 06:09 PM
Manga Tutorials is fine, but I need easier tutorials to start with. I already have a few websites that I like, but not all of the tutorials are worth using. I can draw nice-looking circles, but that's pretty much it.